The Board

The institute belongs administratively to the Ministry of Climate and Environment, and is led by a board.

The current board was appointed by the Ministry of Education for the period of 01 January to 31 Desember 2018  with the following members:

  • Knut Fægri, Vice Rector, University of Oslo (leader)
  • Astrid Lægreid, professor, NTNU
  • Gerd Arna Halmø, consultant, Norsk olje og gass
  • Guro Andersen, senior advisor, Directorate for Civil Protection and Emergency
  • Ole Arve Misund, director, The University Centre in Svalbard (UNIS)
  • Unni Orten Thomsen (employee representative), state meteorologist, Norwegian Meteorological Institute
  • Jürgen Schulze (employee representative), chief engineer, Norwegian Meteorological Institute

Numerical deputies:

  • Eystein Jansen (1. deputy), professor, University of Bergen
  • Berit Kjeldstad (2. deputy), Pro-Rector, NTNU
  • Haavard Stensvand (3. deputy), county emergency manager, County Governor of Sogn og Fjordane

Personal deputies:

  • Trine Dunker Windvik (for Unni Orten Thomsen), senior engineer, Norwegian Meteorological Institute
  • Trond Wikne (for Jürgen Schulze), meteorology consultant, Norwegian Meteorological Institute